Receive More Updates

Date: - Time:

Monday, 9 May 2016

5million Naira Will Be Fined From Any Network Operator For Unnecessary Messages - NCC

Sitting tight for long for NCC to address this matter, they at last concocted something significant in light of the fact that the rate at which every one of these Telcos are sending spontaneous SMS and calls to us the Subscribers is disturbing. Whether you freely subscribe to an offer or not, you will still recieve alteast 3 spontaneous SMS every day.

NCC said via that "the Commission in a ‘New Direction,’ issued to 13 mobile operators by the legal and regulatory department of NCC, plans to sanction any network that refuses to implement it on or before June 30, 2016, the shortcode of 2442 for subscribers to opt-in to the “Do Not Disturb” (DND) database restricting unsolicited marketing messages.

…in a letter dated April 19, 2016 warned MTN, Airtel, Globacom, Etisalat, Smile, Natcoms (Ntel), Visafone, Starcomms, Multilinks, Gamjitel, Danjay Telecoms, Gicell Wireless Ltd and Megatech Engineering Ltd that they should implement the DND restricting telemarketing their MSISDNs including the use of web-based solutions as opt-out measures."

We Subscribers now have the chance to quit any spontaneous message we don't need, however cautioned operators that produced SMS should agree to the 8am to 8pm stipulation (12 hour time frame) for sending SMS to their Subscribers.

Any operator discovered blameworthy of sending spontaneous messages or calls to its clients will be fine an entirety of N5 million and N500,000 day by day the length of the repudiation holds on.

What do you have to say about this?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Is this post helpful?

Your comment(s) are highly appreciated to this post. Be the first to comment and make sure you also share to your friends and families about this post, for them to also benefit from it.

Share to all social networks like Facebook, Twitter and others social network you may know.

Are you finding it difficult to drop a comment here? Kindly click here and learn how to comment on